Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Now I realize my title sounds completely ridiculous, but I promise as you read on it will make sense. One of my readers aka my boyfriend suggested that I should merge palates and politics together more such as talk about politics and throw in a dish.  I decided to accept his challenge and some how transition from a political discussion to a tasty recipe. So here it goes, last week there was a train accident in Buenos Aires, Argentina that resulted in about 50 people being killed and hundreds injured.  I studied abroad in Buenos Aires, so I’ll admit I was quite sad to hear about this.  I was there for the first half of 2009 and I don’t remember any accidents during my time there, but I do remember the subways sometimes being closed due to workers striking, which just resulted in a very long walk home for me. Now I look back and wonder if these workers were striking due to safety issues.

To further contribute to the sadness of this event, as I was reading articles about this accident most of them mentioned that this accident is not the first but there has been a rise in train accidents in Argentina (1). The metro system in Buenos Aires was privatized about 20 years ago while Argentina was experiencing a deep financial crisis. It seems these companies have let the trains fall into disrepair, and the lack of government oversight exacerbated these conditions. There have been government subsidies provided to these companies; however, there have been no stipulations attached. I applaud the Argentine government for giving these companies cash to improve their systems, but to not regulate how they spend it is silly especially in a country known for corruption (2, 3).

Now in my attempt to bring some levity to this post, I felt the need to demonstrate that Argentina is a great country to visit and has awesome culinary wonders to explore. After all New Orleans (my hometown) and Argentina have a lot in common when it comes to corruption, but they’re also lovely places to eat delicious food. So, I decided to give yall my recipe for chimichurri.

  • 1 cup firmly packed fresh flat-leaf parsley, trimmed of thick stems
  • 3-4 garlic cloves
  • 2 Tbsps fresh oregano leaves (can sub 2 teaspoons dried oregano)
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 2 Tbsp red or white wine vinegar, If you want to get fancy use sherry vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes ( I usually put more cause I like a good kick)
  • Optional addition of lemon juice.

So chop the parsley, oregano (if you’re using fresh), and garlic or throw it in a food processor, then stir in the rest of the ingredients.  I would take a taste and adjust the seasonings to your liking…sometimes I throw in some lemon juice if I have it on hand, but I don’t think its a traditional addition.

Argentines like to enjoy chimichurri on their grilled steaks, and I agree this is probably the best meat condiment of all time.  However, I also love to use chimichurri as a pasta sauce.  Its great with pasta and sauteed mushrooms!

I would love to hear about other chimichurri experiments, let me know what you think! I think I’ll try it next as a topping on a nice rare tuna steak.

