Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Sorry I’ve been away from the blogging scene for longer than usual. I celebrated my birthday last week and when possible I like to extend celebrations beyond one day.

So the point of this post is essentially to talk about my new found love of peaches. I must say the peach does not get as much attention as it should. I know a peach will never be a delicious summer berry, but personally I’m blueberry and strawberried out. Peaches are a great change and very versatile as well! Here are some great ways to enjoy peaches:

1.) Have you ever had a grilled peach? Please try it immediately, if you don’t want to heat up your grill, you can kind of fudge it on a George Foreman grill just don’t push the other side down at all or for very long. Slice them up thin and throw them on a salad with some nuts, goat cheese, and a sweet dressing (I usually use a honey balsamic dressing). It’s an awesome light and summery treat.

2.) Peaches + Salty Pork Product + Flavorful Cheese, is my new favorite combination. I’ve made a peach, bacon, and gouda grilled sandwich that’s changed my life. Also, peach, prosciutto, and gorgonzola cheese pizza with a drizzle of honey is an awesome change from the continued pepperoni pizza flow that is usually happening in my apartment.

3.) Peach quesadillas! my mom mentioned that when she was younger she used to get peaches and cheddar cheese as a side with her school lunches. I used to think that was insane until I thought about making a peach and cheddar cheese quesadilla. Caramelize some red or yellow onions (depending on preference) and in separate pan with some melted butter or oil layer your half of your tortilla with shredded cheddar cheese, peach slices, and cooked onions (and some more cheese for good mesaure and cook on both sides til golden brown.
do you have any other ways of bringing peaches beyond the realm of cobblers and crisps? I’d love to hear other people’s peach recipes!

