Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hey Everyone! It’s been quite a while since I’ve posted anything and I do apologize. I had this beautiful post planned out about an engagement party I put on at my house, and I was going to talk about cooking for 20+ people and how to prep for an invasion of hungry people. However, shortly after this party Hurricane Isaac hit, and I was 4 days without power, and I’ve been very busy with work and my family since the storm.

After the storm I decided that I liked the  idea of posting some “roughin’ it recipes,” as I like to call them. I figured you can find plenty of engagement party recipes on pinterest. One of my favorite things about when the power goes out for an extended period of time is that I’m forced to eat. All those steaks and meals that were in the freezer for a special occasion are going to go bad, so call over your neighbors and dig in. For the first two days, we feasted on grilled steaks and pork tenderloin. So, glad my mom finally bought a grill after years of urging.

I relied heavily on my white bean and tuna salad recipe as well and used red wine vinegar instead of my usual lemon. You can find that recipe here.
You’d also be surprised what you could make with canned chicken as well, I needed to use up some sour cream that my mom was about to throw out, and I made a chicken salad with sour cream (you could probably use plain greek yogurt in it’s place) some mayo, and curry powder. throw in whatever crunchy items you have such as celery, almonds, cashews, basically anything you have if you’re big on texture. My mom had cherry tomatoes and grapes in hers.

Don’t underestimate the power of canned beans, my dad made a bean burrito with canned pinto beans, some rotel, and cheese whiz. Trust me it was not as bad as it sounds.

Anyway get creative, and if the power does go out you’ll be surprised with how many options you can come up with. What are some your power outage meals?

 

