Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

downloadSometimes you have a party for a parade that passes by your house, you invite some friends and then end up with a beer pong table in the middle of your living room. I can’t say this was completely unexpected. In addition, I was well aware that most of my party-goers would be hungover from the night before, and wouldn’t be picky about whatever food I decided to serve them….I would also probably be hungover so I need to do something easy that would require any attention.

Bacon Wrapped Chicken wings….just need an hour on the grill over indirect heat. Also its any hungover person’s dream, who wouldn’t want to stumble into those.

  • 1 big ass pack of wings (around 10-12)
  • 1 pack of bacon (thinly sliced)
  • black pepper
  • Toothpicks
  • If you’re feeling ambitious bbq or hot sauce or other seasonings you like.

Soak your toothpicks for about 30 minutes to an hour in some water, prepare and light your grill for cooking over indirect heat. While the toothpicks are soaking, cut the tips off of your chicken wings and then cut the inside of the wing joint (don’t cut through all the way) to help straighten out the wings.

Now wrap your wing with bacon and secure with toothpicks, I kind of spiraled the bacon around the wing, just to ensure everyone gets a bite of chicken and bacon. I also used 2 toothpicks per wing. Add freshly ground pepper then throw these babies on the grill for about 30 minutes each side or until done.

After they were cooked I waited about 5 minutes for them to cool and pulled out all the toothpicks for my drunk guests. (this is where you can add extra sauce or seasoning if you like)….while these were cooking I made some chicken quesadillas.

Chicken Quesadillas – this recipe is embarrassingly easy and my mom and I have been making the recipe for years….its probably going on 10 years at this point but lets not talk about that.

  • 1 to 1.5 lbs chicken breast, cut into bite size pieces (Tyson does make fajita chicken strips if you want to be super quick)
  • garlic powder
  • red pepper flakes
  • cheddar cheese soup (I usually use Campbell)
  • 1/2- 3/4 a jar of your favorite salsa (I use herdez medium)
  • Flour tortillas (8-10)

Preheat your oven to 350 (you can skip this step). Brown chicken on a non stick skillet, add garlic and red pepper while cooking. Once cooked add cheddar cheese soup and salsa…judge how much salsa you want depending on cheesiness level you want to have, color, and spiciness. I like spicy so I tend to use more salsa. Mix together until the sauce is consistent.

**Here you can fill the tortillas and just cut them up into finger food sized quesadillas OR you can fill the tortillas put them in a baking dish and bake for 10 minutes. I really the like the crispiness it adds and it makes them easier to cut up in to bite size pieces for guests.

Sometimes I’ll add beans, rice, or some spinach when I’m pretending to be healthy, but these are plenty filling without the extras.  Also any leftover sauce is good as a dip for chips!

There you go in a little over an hour you have pretty easy food for drunk party guests. What are your go to party recipes?

